Ugh. Right?

Well, not always.

In a few days I will be 17 month post-op. I still drink protein shakes occasionally, usually as breakfast. I have tried many different brands and prepared them many different ways. We’ll call this review and recipes Winking smile

Pretty much the only way I’m willing to mix them up is with a wire ball blender bottle. OCCASIONALLY I’ll break out the bullet blender, but only on a rare occasion (like this morning’s iced coffee vanilla mocha experiment, which was awesome and described at the bottom of this post).

Melaleuca’s Proflex – Easily my favourite, but not as available to me as they used to be. It comes in Chocolate and Vanilla. 20g of protein, 2g of sugar, and 5g of fat. It mixes up smooth and thick. $24.50 for non Preferred Customers, 16.99 for Preferred Customers, 15 servings, $1.64 / $1.13 per serving. Mixes great with just water. Only available online.

GNC Total Lean Lean Shake 25 – Second on the list. Comes in Chocolate and Vanilla. 25g of protein, 4g of sugar, 3g of fat. Smooth and thick-ish. $42.99 for non-gold card holders, $34.39 for gold card holders, 16 servings, $2.67 / $2.15 per serving. Another one that’s fine with water. Available in store and online, only at GNC.

PureProtein 100% Whey – A good easy to get option as it’s sold lots of places. Comes in Chocolate, Vanilla, & Cookies N Cream, I’ve only tried the vanilla so far. 25g protein, 2g sugar, 2.5g fat. Can be gritty, but I discovered that using a sifter (like for flour) takes care of that a lot. Not as thick as the others, but okay. I can’t remember exactly how much this is, but I’m pretty sure it’s less expensive than the other two mentioned so far. It’s available at TONS of stores including WalMart, Target, and the Kroger family stores. Mixes fine with water.

BSN Lean Dessert – Super yummy. Comes in Banana Cream Pudding, Banana Nut Bread, Chocolate Coconut, Chocolate Fudge Pudding, Fresh Cinnamon Roll (the only one I’ve tried), Whipped Vanilla Cream. 21g protein, 2g sugar, 3.5g fat. Smooth and thick-ish. SRP is $31.99 for 18 servings. I’ve seen in less at my local health food store, but don’t remember the exact price. ~$1.78 per serving. Fine with just water. It’s available online, @ GNC, at my local health food store, so probably a number of places.

Now the not so good:

These are ones I have to ‘alter’ to enjoy them, or just choke down.

For chocolate ones, I find adding cinnamon is yummy, vanilla ones I add root beer extract, I made one I like with fresh brewed iced coffee and that may work for some of these too. If you don’t like one, try adding a sweetener. I know for ME, that usually that helps a lot. A spoon of Truvia or Splenda, etc.

Bariatric Advantage – Yeah, not feeling the love. I’ve tried the Chocolate, Vanilla, Strawberry, Banana, and Orange Cream. Also comes in Iced Latte and Unflavoured. 27g protein, 0.5g sugar, 2g fat. Thin, grainy – haven’t tried the sifter trick with these, I hadn’t discovered that yet. $59.95 for 35 servings. $1.71 per serving. Available online and maybe at your doctor’s office. Had to add sweetener or flavour to make these palatable.

Revial Soy – While I love their soy chips, I don’t love their shakes. Comes in Chocolate, vanilla, strawberry, cappuccino, peach, banana, strawberry banana, blueberry, and plain. The unsweetened and sucralose versions have 20g protein, 1g sugar and 1g fat. There is a fructose sweetened version. Another thin and grainy one. $33.59 for 15 servings or $59.99 for 30, $2.24 / $2.00 per serving. Adding sweetener or flavour made these drinkable, but only barely.

So, there you have it.

Quick re-cap:

Brand Protein Sugar Fat $ per serving (lowest) My Rating
Melaleuca 20 2 5 $1.13 *****
GNC Total Lean 25 4 3 $2.15 ****
Pure Protein 100% Whey 25 2 2.5 ?? ***
BSN Lean Dessert 21 2 3.5 $1.78 or less ****
Bariatric Advantage 27 0.5 2 $1.71 *
Revival Soy 20 1 1 $2.00 *

Other tricks –

This morning I mixed up a yummy concoction that triggered this post. I brewed iced coffee, used that as the water and then blended it with vanilla and a spoon of my kids’ no sugar added chocolate milk mix. Oh, and added a little Truvia. YUM. Iced coffee with protein basically. Turned out really good.

I’ve already mentioned that adding a little sweetener can help, unless the problem is that a shake is TOO sickly sweet for you. I don’t have that problem so can’t help there. Some shakes are improved by simply mixing them with milk instead of water, so that’s something to try. Flavours are also another trick, but you almost always want to add sweetener with them, unless, of course, they’re too sweet for you to begin with.

Vanilla – root beer, orange, almond, more vanilla, maple.Chocolate – orange, raspberry, mint, or try just sprinkling some cinnamon in.

There are a LOT of other brands out there, these are ONLY the ones I have tried. A lot of people swear by the Nectar brand, I just haven’t gotten my hands on any of those yet.

If I do, I’ll post about it Smile

