These are like crab cakes, but with tuna, and they are YUM. Using flaxmeal instead of bread crumbs helps control the ‘bad’ carbs and adds some good fiber.

The recipe is from: http://www.5daypouchtest.com/recipes/day_3.html#tuna

Ingredients:
1 (6 3/4-oz) can albacore tuna
1 tablespoon mayonnaise
1 large egg
2 tablespoons Parmesan cheese
2 tablespoons ground flaxmeal (look in the cereal isle near the wheat germ)
1 dash garlic powder
1 dash onion powder
1 dash salt

Directions:
Drain tuna. Blend all ingredients in a medium size bowl and form into patties. Fry in olive oil until brown on edges. Turn. Fry until done.

My Thoughts:

As I said, these are really good. I like tuna and having another way to eat it besides on cucumber slices or whatever is great.

I think at some time in the future I will try these with crab to make crab cakes. They’d probably also be good with salmon, shrimp, etc.

