Earlier this month I had my 12 month follow up. As part of that, they take a blood draw ( or 7 or 8 ) to check lots of things. I only got the basics as I was driving when they called, I hope to get a full report later.

With what I’ve been doing, only two things showed as low – protein and Vitamin D. Now, my Vitamin D was low pre-op, so that’s not really surprising and the PA has mailed me a prescription to have filled at the pharmacy. The test for the protein marker showed that I wasn’t getting quite enough in and it was recommended that I increase my daily protein by 10 grams.

So, again, here are what I take for WLS (there are other medications I take that aren’t because of the WLS, so they’re not included here, but I talked about them in an earlier post).

PLEASE NOTE – THIS DOESN’T MEAN THAT THIS WILL WORK FOR YOU. DIFFERENT PEOPLE PROCESS VITAMINS DIFFERENTLY.

1 Up&Up (Target brand) Children’s Chewable with 18g iron
4 Caltrate Petites, spread out over the day (800mg calcium *citrate* total)
1 Biotin (5000 mcg, not tested for)
1 B-12 (1000 mcg)

As well I take 500mg magnesium which can be helpful in calcium absorption and therefor also helps with constipation.

Good to know that what I’ve been doing is (for the most part) working Smile

