I warned you from the beginning that I was terrible at updating blogs.

It’s now the end of week 8 since surgery. You can see how much I’ve lost total, but for those who are curious how it breaks down, here it is:

Date Week Weight at end of week Weight Lost
8/2/2010 Starting Weight 317
8/9/2010 Pre-Op Liquid Diet Week 311.5 5.5
8/15/2010 1 299 12.5
8/22/2010 2 296 3
8/29/2010 3 291.5 4.5
9/5/2010 4 289 2.5
9/12/2010 5 288 1
9/19/2010 6 283 5
9/26/2010 7 277.5 5.5

I think in some ways by body had gone into ‘starvation mode’ around weeks 4 and 5. Perfectly normal, but annoying. Basically, no matter how we’re losing weight, we need to eat to lose. Otherwise, our body goes into that mode where when you do feed it, it stores everything you eat so that when you ‘don’t feed it’ again, it has the reserves it thinks it needs. Stupid caveman genetics…

But, I can eat a little more so I think that’s helped.

Speaking of food. Here’s an idea of what and how much I eat generally.

Breakfast – It’s generally either an individual container of Dannon Light & Fit yogurt, or a bowl of oatmeal that is one packet of instant regular, a packet of splenda, and, get this, a spoon of peanut butter. I use the PB2 powdered peanut butter. It’s low in fat and sugar, but has a regular amount of protein. I just stir the powder in with my oatmeal and the hot water is enough for the oatmeal and the peanut butter. If you’re looking for a low-fat peanut butter, check it out, it’s surprisingly good, even just by itself.

Now that I seem to tolerate eggs okay, I’m going to try scrambled eggs with turkey sausage for breakfast. We’ll see how that goes, maybe tomorrow.

Lunch – This is actually the meal I have the hardest time with. My old favourites were things like sandwiches, Hot Pockets, leftover pasta, etc. Can’t do that. So, generally it will be something like, a couple pieces of deli sliced ham spread with a little low-fat mayo or Miracle Whip and wrapped up with a slice of low-fat cheese. Kraft 2% Singles are my favourite so far. They taste pretty darn good. My other fall back is homemade hummus (chickpeas / garbanzo beans, olive oil, lemon juice, sesame seeds (instead of tahini paste), cumin, salt and …. I think that’s it). I’ll either serve it with cucumber slices or… SoyCrisps! They are light and airy enough to scoop up the hummus with without causing an issue with being too much ’empty’ calories. I’m hoping to order some Revival Soy Crisps here soon and try those as they’re packed with even more protein. Other things for the cucumber / soy chips are tuna salad, chicken salad, or egg salad, all made with the low-fat mayo. Now, this may sound like a ‘normal’ meal, so here’s the part that still flabergasts my husband. I’ll have only *maybe* 1/2 a cup of whatever, and about 8-10 crisps, which are the size of mini ricecakes. That’s it.

Snack – sometimes I do get hungry around 3pm so I’ll have a snack. String cheese, cashews, etc. Again, though, that’s one piece of string cheese, or *maybe* 1/2 cup of cashews. If I haven’t had the whatever and soy crisps for lunch, I may have them here.

Dinner – this is getting to be enjoyable finally. Most of the time. I’ve discovered that if I’m going to have chicken, it must must must be moist and tender. I’m having issues with it still getting over cooked, even in the crock pot, so use of the crock pot is kind of … on hold. I’m working on adapting things. Like, actually, the chili is fine as the chicken is shredded and the re-integrated, but the chicken stew I made the other day, the pieces were not moist enough. If I make it again, I’ll probably cook everything else in the crock pot with the broth, but then cook the chicken pieces on the stove and toss them in last minute. Fish with low-fat made tartar sauce is fine, pork roast, etc. I think I discovered that part of my issue with dinner stuff has been that I was too hungry and ate too fast. It’s one of the reasons I’ve gone ahead and added the afternoon snack.

On the menu for this week are:
Pepperoni Chicken – we nickname this “pizza in a pot”. It’s chicken, pepperoni, olives, green peppers, and onions cooked together in a pot on the stove with chicken broth, fennel seed (gives that sausage taste), wine and some other spices. Then you top it with cheese and bake it about 15-20 minutes. I should be able to eat most of what’s in that no issue.
Polish Hunter’s Stew (aka Bigos) – The idea behind this is whatever meat you have, with sauerkraut, mushrooms, onions, caraway and spices, all cooked in a big pot. We use pork and sausages. We’re trying turkey smoked sausage this time. Around post-Thanksgiving, usually a lot of the leftover turkey winds up in a pot of this.
Herb Crusted Fillet of Fish – Original recipe calls for Brill, but I haven’t found any locally, so we generally use halibut. It’s a Gordon Ramsey recipe from his show The F Word. It’s yummy. I’ll have to avoid the breadcrumb part probably, but the rest is divine. Fish, shallots, tomatoes, basil (fresh from my own plant), parsley, parmesan, and bread crumbs. I’ll make rice for everyone else, but won’t have any myself.

Again, on all these, I’ll have maybe enough to 1/2 fill a 10oz Pyrex custard cup.

Depending on how late I’m up, I may have another snack, one of the snack items I listed that is one of the ones I didn’t have earlier, lol.

And, that’s pretty much it! I have sugar free Jello which I forget to make… one of the things I can do with this to help make sure I get enough protein is to add unflavoured protein powder. Sounds weird, but works really really well.

I also have a few Smart Ones that don’t include pasta or rice (do you know how hard it is to find ‘diet’ frozen meals with no rice or pasta?!) that I may try for lunch. Again, I’ll probably only eat maybe half of one and be done.

But, things are going well!

