Well, kind of like on The Biggest Loser, this week was lower, but it’s absolutely fine. I lost 3 pounds which is great 🙂

Start Weight 317
Last Week’s Weight 299
This Week’s Weight 296
Pounds Lost This Week 3
Pounds Lost Total 21

Why are you writing on Monday and not Sunday?

Weeeelll…. One of the things that can happen with the surgery is dehydration or electrolyte imbalances. I woke up Sunday morning with heart palpitations, the kind where your heart feels like it’s skipping a beat. I’ve had it happen before, but it would just skip a beat and go back to normal. When this had been going on for about 25 minutes I figured I’d better check with a doc since I know all kinds of things can come up in the first month or so. Doc recommended I get an EKG done, so off to the ER we went. Brandon dropped the kids off at the church nursery and came back. It was convenient and worked well.

They did the EKG, took some blood for lab work, and gave me some IV fluids while keeping me on monitors. Of course, by the time we got to the ER the rhythm had regulated again but was still fast. So, nothing to see.

They did say that there were some markers in my blood work for a possible blood clot. It I had been still having the palpitations they would do a CT scan to check my chest for clots. Since nothing was happening anymore, we (doc and I) decided it wasn’t worth the radiation exposure.

So, highest possibility is dehydration / electrolyte imbalance. Which I totally understand as I had had issues getting enough fluids in the day before.

In other news… I’m feeling better and better. I’m basically not taking any pain medications anymore, sleeping in normal (for me) positions, I went to the bead store and Target by myself today and neither wiped me out too bad. Went grocery shopping all by myself the other day. Was a little wiped at the end, but a sign I’m getting stronger everyday.

This next week I get to start ‘soft foods’. While scrambled eggs are on the list, they’re off MY list for now. Heh. Yeah…

Tonight we had ‘Eggplant Parmesan’. Kind of like normal, but without breading.

Take an eggplant and slice it into rounds about a finger width wide. Saute with some FF Italian Dressing and place in a sprayed baking dish. Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese, spoon some marinara or other ‘plain’ sauce over that, and sprinkle with mozzarella cheese. Bake at 425 for 20 minutes. For me, I made sure the sauce was the lowest in sugar I could find without paying $8 a jar for the organic, and that the mozzarella was the lowest in fat I could find as well.

It was yummy, Brandon and Emma gobbled theirs up with salad and pasta, Eion only ate the salad and pasta (typical) but even better, I liked it and it liked me 🙂 Of course, no salad at this point, and no pasta pretty much ever. But it filled me up just fine and was wonderfully satisfying to eat something ‘normal’.

Other things I’ll be trying this week are tuna salad on cucumbers (was going to be egg salad, but I’ll probably wait a bit to try eggs again), salmon with veggies, No-Noodle Lasagna (basically cottage cheese, sauce, mozzarella, ground turkey layered and baked), and mini turkey meatloaves with carrots, green pepper and onion in them.

Basically, cooked veggies, soft meats (NO beef at all for another couple of weeks), low fat cheeses are all things to try this week.

Yay! Food!

🙂

